Tuesday, May 8, 2012

There's Always Time If You Make Time For... Learning and Reflecting

Before we begin down the glorious Eightfold Path, let's review another set of Buddhist guidelines; the 16 Bodhisattva Precepts. Bodhisattva's and other extreme Zen practitioners commit fully to these precepts during an official, and beautiful, ceremony.
These precepts embody the spirit and values of Buddhism, and they are:
1) Be One with The Buddha
2) Be One with the Dharma
3) Be One with the Sangha
4) Don't do Evil
5) Do good
6) Do good for others
7) Don't kill
8) Don't steal
9) Don't misuse sex
10) Don't lie
11) Don't become intoxicated
12) Don't put other people down
13) Don't blame anyone or consider yourself above anyone
14) Don't be stingy
15) Don't become angry
16) Do not put down The Buddha, the Dharma, or the Sangha

Now, I obviously don't claim to be a monk. I enjoy my share of... alcohol... but the 16 Bodhisattva Precepts do have some good points that we can integrate into our everyday lives. Some points, ie. Don't kill, steal, etc. are obvious, but others are a bit more difficult to commit fully to. We can learn much from these precepts and, as we reflect on our lives, realize our mistakes and learn from them. I'm not saying that we commit fully to them, but to embrace them and respect them and vow to learn and reflect as per them.
Let's admire and be thankful for the oppurtunity.


Terms: "Bodhisattva": means an "enlightened being" or "essence of the way" - enlightenment benefits everyone
"Sangha": follower of the Dharma - this term is most attributed to Buddhist monks as they can truly say they completely follow the Dharma

No comments:

Post a Comment